Computer problem! PC Hardware


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Username:   Password:

Hosted in the Cloud RSS

Recent Topics

Gallery Latest


798 Views
0 comment(s)

774 Views
0 comment(s)


1130 Views
0 comment(s)

996 Views
0 comment(s)


862 Views
0 comment(s)

877 Views
1 comment(s)

Search The Gallery

User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 23, 2017, 16:20:09 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Forum
Web
Gallery

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Computer problem!

Viewing: 0 Members and 1 Guest       Total Views: 3417

Offline DD1975 Topic starter
England Posts: 1576
Rank: Certified

There was quite a bit of dust in the fan area Data (I assume the heat sink?).

I've got the setting sorted as best I can for now and its all usable and working (and yes I've tested STO lol).
Posted February 16, 2017, 21:13:59 PM Logged
Smoke me a Kipper I'll be back for breakfast - Ace Rimmer

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 4687
Rank: Certified

There was quite a bit of dust in the fan area Data (I assume the heat sink?).

Yes that's the heatsink.

The card is probably dead then but I would try it once more for luck, would probably clean the PCIe slot with a brush then reseat the card making sure the power connectors are fitted snugly too.

If you end up using the onboard, which is pretty good on them i5's, then you should uninstall all the AMD drivers and software, then install the latest drivers for the onboard graphics.

It should be sorted then.  

DD do you know the make and model number of your motherboard off hand ?
Posted February 16, 2017, 21:25:26 PM Logged

Offline DD1975 Topic starter
England Posts: 1576
Rank: Certified

Looks like Asus Z87m-Plus if I'm reading it right through the window Data.
Posted February 16, 2017, 21:32:37 PM Logged
Smoke me a Kipper I'll be back for breakfast - Ace Rimmer

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 4687
Rank: Certified

Here is a link to your onboard graphics driver:

Link Gone

Let me know when you have it, I will remove the link.

But first remove the AMD software from Control Panel, Programs and Features.
Posted February 16, 2017, 21:53:06 PM Logged

Offline DD1975 Topic starter
England Posts: 1576
Rank: Certified

I've saved the link on a sticky note, I'll give the card a try first.

Is there any way to tell if its the power supply rather than the card?
Posted February 16, 2017, 21:57:23 PM Logged
Smoke me a Kipper I'll be back for breakfast - Ace Rimmer

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 4687
Rank: Certified

Is there any way to tell if its the power supply rather than the card?

Other than try another power supply, hmmm I don't think there is DD.

Best of luck  fingers crossed

Posted February 16, 2017, 22:10:30 PM Logged

Offline DD1975 Topic starter
England Posts: 1576
Rank: Certified

Rats thought so.

Oh well, not really in the market for a new card either so going to have to make do with the on-board for now.

So as and when I am do I go AMD again or is it worth switching?
Posted February 16, 2017, 22:15:19 PM Logged
Smoke me a Kipper I'll be back for breakfast - Ace Rimmer

Offline Carl2
United States Posts: 745
Rank: Baron

  Well you seem to have the screen back so the problem is solved, one of the nice parts is you can probably pick up a new video card for not much money, either fixed or something that didn't sell.
Carl2
Posted February 16, 2017, 23:27:09 PM Logged

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 4687
Rank: Certified

So as and when I am do I go AMD again or is it worth switching?

AMD do a good bang for bucks, I wouldn't rule them out, personally.

I think the lesson here is to make sure to keep the graphics card fan and heatsink clean, these modern cards make a lot of heat , I've seen plenty of cards get killed this way, from both teams.
Posted February 16, 2017, 23:41:07 PM Logged

Offline DD1975 Topic starter
England Posts: 1576
Rank: Certified

Slightly annoyingly if I select upgrade on the PC specialist website it's giving me prices in Euro's due to me buying the PC when I was in Ireland and I can't change it over the £'s.

There's some good options in there so I'll google them see what sort of price there are, maybe see if I can find some deals.
Posted February 17, 2017, 15:58:20 PM Logged
Smoke me a Kipper I'll be back for breakfast - Ace Rimmer

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 4687
Rank: Certified

It depends on your price range DD but you get some pretty good cards these days for around £100

These 2 are ok, the AMD card has more memory but the NVidia is a tad quicker.

http://www.ebuyer.com/761965-gigabyte-nvidia-geforce-gtx-1050-d5-2gb-gv-n1050d5-2gd

http://www.ebuyer.com/753967-gigabyte-radeon-rx-460-4gb-graphics-card-ebuyer-com-gv-rx460wf2oc-4gd
Posted February 17, 2017, 16:59:19 PM Logged

Offline DD1975 Topic starter
England Posts: 1576
Rank: Certified

If I can stretch to it Data I was thinking along the line of this:

http://www.ebuyer.com/755197-msi-radeon-rx-470-gaming-x-4gb-gddr5-dual-link-dvi-d-hdmi-2x-rx-470-gaming-x-4g

What do you think?
Posted February 24, 2017, 17:14:35 PM Logged
Smoke me a Kipper I'll be back for breakfast - Ace Rimmer

Offline Snowcrash
England Global Moderator
Posts: 2730
Rank: Certified

Unless you're thinking of going VR or want to play the latest games at top res, you'll never tell the difference between the 460 and the 470, except it's £80+ more. You could probably get away with the 2GB 460 but the 4GB 460 is the best bang for buck.
Posted February 24, 2017, 17:51:35 PM Logged
“I cannot remember the books I've read any more than the meals I have eaten; even so, they have made me.”

Ralph Waldo Emerson

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 4687
Rank: Certified

If I had the choice then yes I would go for the 470, absolutely, I agree with Snowy though, the way things are heading these days the higher end cards aren't needed for 1080 resolution, that's why I suggested the 460 and I know your gaming requirements aren't too excessive either.

The 470 would be more likely to max out them quality settings, which would be nice, probably better future proof too.

Whichever I think really you should be looking at a 4 GIG card, now I think about it, 2 GIG is low end these days.
Posted February 24, 2017, 19:04:35 PM Logged

Offline DD1975 Topic starter
England Posts: 1576
Rank: Certified

Thanks guys that's very helpful, no point throwing an extra £80 at it if there's no need to.

I'll probably go for the 460 then, when I can afford it  Cheesy
Posted February 24, 2017, 19:43:27 PM Logged
Smoke me a Kipper I'll be back for breakfast - Ace Rimmer
Pages: 1 [2] 3
Jump to:  

Site Activity
Most Online Today: 159
143 Guests, 1 User
Urania