Datahopa is hosted in the Cloud

Solid State drives PC Hardware


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Username:   Password:

Recent Topics

Gallery Latest


42 Views
2 comment(s)

188 Views
0 comment(s)


275 Views
0 comment(s)

254 Views
0 comment(s)


388 Views
0 comment(s)

424 Views
2 comment(s)

Search The Gallery

User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
February 27, 2015, 11:33:32 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Ai Specific Links

Forum
Web
Gallery

   

DatahopaForumPC RelatedPC HardwareSolid State drives



Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12] 13 14 ... 21
Author Topic:

Solid State drives

 (Read 47833 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest Viewing

Offline Freddy
United Kingdom WWW Administrator
Posts: 2212
Rank: Certified
No I removed all IDE drives when I got that new graphics card.  It's all SATA in there now - atm 1 HDD and 1 DVD-RW.
Posted April 21, 2012, 14:37:01 PM Logged

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 3543
Rank: Certified
That’s good then, I only asked because AHCI and IDE drives don’t mix to well.
Posted April 21, 2012, 16:24:40 PM Logged

Offline Snowcrash
England Global Moderator
Posts: 2370
Rank: Certified
I shall be doing this soon with my flatmates rig.

Do you know of issues with IDE DVD drives when AHCI is on? Or is it just IDE HDDs?
Posted April 21, 2012, 16:27:41 PM Logged
"Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning."

Albert Einstein

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 3543
Rank: Certified
You sometimes have to run the AHCI in compatibility mode to get the IDE to work right, also having any IDE drive, be it DVD, HDD or whatever will slow the boot down.

I would get a SATA DVD drive for about £15 with the SSD and go SATA all the way.

Saying that you will be able to get it to work with an IDE drive if he doesn’t want to splash out any cash on a new DVD.
Posted April 21, 2012, 16:36:05 PM Logged

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 3543
Rank: Certified
Freddy, when will your SSD arrive? 
Posted April 24, 2012, 13:17:18 PM Logged

Offline Freddy
United Kingdom WWW Administrator
Posts: 2212
Rank: Certified
I'm not sure - I went for the free delivery option.

BTW, Amazon have pretty much matched that price today..
Posted April 24, 2012, 13:31:07 PM Logged

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 3543
Rank: Certified
I find ebuyer normally takes 2 to 3 working days for the free delivery, it might turn up today I’m thinking, they sometimes come in the afternoon for me.   

Fingers crossed.

Not sure why but I’m excited for you  Grin
Posted April 24, 2012, 13:37:48 PM Logged

Offline Freddy
United Kingdom WWW Administrator
Posts: 2212
Rank: Certified
It is pretty exciting, always brightens things up when a new toy is on the way Smiley

I'm looking forward to getting rid of all the junk I have installed on this too, fresh start.
Posted April 24, 2012, 17:36:42 PM Logged

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 3543
Rank: Certified
So has it turned up yet Freddy, I mean it should be with you by now   scratch-head
Posted April 27, 2012, 12:14:45 PM Logged

Offline Freddy
United Kingdom WWW Administrator
Posts: 2212
Rank: Certified
Yeah it turned up today  Cheesy

I'm not going to install it till Sunday though as I have some gaming lined up for Saturday and it will take me a while to get it all done.

Exciting stuff Smiley
Posted April 27, 2012, 15:38:09 PM Logged

Offline sybershot
United States WWW Posts: 1326
Rank: Certified
congrats on getting the ssd in today.
Posted April 27, 2012, 19:37:31 PM Logged

Offline Freddy
United Kingdom WWW Administrator
Posts: 2212
Rank: Certified
Thanks Syber Smiley

Quick question - when my PC is idle I have a feeling it is de-fragmenting  drives - is that the case ?

And SSDs should not be defragmented - so how can I turn that off ?

Or am I completely wrong ?
Posted April 29, 2012, 14:32:30 PM Logged

Offline DaveMorton
United States WWW Global Moderator
Posts: 1879
Rank: Certified
Comfort the Disturbed! Disturb the Comfortable!
More likely, it's Windows Search indexing the drive. Win 7 detects whether a drive is an SSD, and more or less "refuses" to defrag them unless you do so manually. So I wouldn't worry too much about it at this point. Smiley
Posted April 29, 2012, 14:36:01 PM Logged
Safe, Reliable Insanity, Since 1961!
Chat With Morti!

CAPTCHA4us

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 3543
Rank: Certified
I have search indexing turned off on my SSD, no real point in having it on just for the OS drive and games drive.

Right click properties on the drive in windows explorer, the setting is in there.
Posted April 29, 2012, 16:51:55 PM Logged

Offline Freddy
United Kingdom WWW Administrator
Posts: 2212
Rank: Certified
Hello Mr PC Doctor.

I am getting there, the worst part so far was building the SSD braces, soooo fiddly, I had to attach the braces to the SSD before putting it in the machine.  Why don't they magnetise all screws grrr !

Anyway, the SSD is in there, and Windows Device manager can see it.

I made a restore point too.

In my BIOS, under "Storage Config" I see that at the moment it is set to IDE.  So assuming I am looking in the right place, later on I will have to change that to AHCI.  So now I have to do the Windows regedit thing first.

That's where I am.  But I have a question.  How can I find out what version of Firmware the SSD has ?

Looking at the link for Firmware, I see that currently : *CURRENT FIRMWARE RELEASE is v2.22 btw...

Cheers Smiley
Posted April 30, 2012, 14:35:15 PM Logged
Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12] 13 14 ... 21
Jump to:  

Site Activity:

27 Guests, 1 User
Legion
Todays Active Members
Most Online Today: 32

Page Content Tags:

Solid State drives PC Hardware