thinking about a new pc and server PC Hardware...


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Username:   Password:

Hosted in the Cloud RSS

Recent Topics

Gallery Latest


206 Views
0 comment(s)

191 Views
0 comment(s)


294 Views
0 comment(s)

289 Views
1 comment(s)


514 Views
0 comment(s)

1019 Views
0 comment(s)

Search The Gallery

User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 20, 2018, 22:14:13 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Forum
Web
Gallery

   

DatahopaForumComputer RelatedPC Hardwarethinking about a new pc and server



Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7

thinking about a new pc and server

Viewing: 0 Members and 1 Guest       Total Views: 84406

Offline Carl2
United States Posts: 1266
Rank: Certified

  I kind of wish I put in a faster Ram and I had the same money problems so I got a standard memory speed and I didn't want to play with memory settings.  In the large over all I'm not sure how much difference it would make.  This old HP is quick and snappy enough for me.
Carl2
 
Posted February 11, 2018, 12:32:13 PM Logged

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 5296
Rank: Certified

As always it depends what you want to do with your PC, for standard desktop use then no, RAM speed doesn't really matter but then again nor does six cores. 4 cores with higher clock speeds is the better option. 

However if you are trying to build the best you can and want really fast access times for a server with lots of cores all trying to pull data from the memory at the same time then yes, faster RAM would be the better option. IMHO

Horses for courses  Smiley
Posted February 11, 2018, 15:31:27 PM Logged

Offline sybershot Topic starter
United States WWW Posts: 1446
Rank: Certified

I will have to spend a lot of money on ram in the near future, due to the fact that this build will be a server and pc in one. another reason why i was not concerned about initial ram, for it will be getting tossed out the window once i get my new ram.

I also needed a minimum of 6 core processor so i can have 4 cores for windows, and 2 cores for unraid.
I don't think any of my windows programs would utilize 6 cores so besides what i am doing I would not need more than 4 cores

Posted February 11, 2018, 16:32:44 PM Logged

Offline DaveMorton
United States WWW Global Moderator
Posts: 2817
Rank: Certified
Comfort the Disturbed! Disturb the Comfortable!

another reason why i was not concerned about initial ram, for it will be getting tossed out the window once i get my new ram.

You're always welcome to toss it my way. Wink Cheesy
Posted February 11, 2018, 17:11:35 PM Logged
Safe, Reliable Insanity, Since 1961!
Chat With Morti!

CAPTCHA4us

Offline sybershot Topic starter
United States WWW Posts: 1446
Rank: Certified

if you can use it, for it is ddr4 it will be tossed your way   thumbsup
not sure how long it will take to save up for my new set, for I have to buy other pc parts first like a gpu, a few drives and 2x os so it could be a lil while.  Wink
Posted February 11, 2018, 17:36:06 PM Logged

Offline Carl2
United States Posts: 1266
Rank: Certified

My experience with raid goes back to the days of hard drives,  I bought a new computer and had a boot of 1 minute 30 sec or so.  I tried raid hard drives and got a faster speed test but boot time remained the same so I bought one of the first SSD's which brought boot to a reasonable time.  The M.2 has such fast read times, 2 - 3 Gb/sec I'm not sure how much it would help but give it a try and let us know.
Carl2
Posted February 12, 2018, 12:21:55 PM Logged

Offline sybershot Topic starter
United States WWW Posts: 1446
Rank: Certified

thanks carl, planning on getting a m.2, and the raid will be for the server side of things to keep all my files safer, in one place, and better organized.

My case came in today, and all I can say is WOW this thing is gigantically huge


p.s. rest of the parts should be arriving tomorrow  Cool


Thermaltake tower 900 pc case.JPG
thinking about a new pc and server
* Thermaltake tower 900 pc case.JPG (26.91 KB, 339x307 - viewed 1015 times.)
Posted February 14, 2018, 02:27:16 AM Logged

Offline DaveMorton
United States WWW Global Moderator
Posts: 2817
Rank: Certified
Comfort the Disturbed! Disturb the Comfortable!

Syber, what are the dimensions of that brute? Just curious. It looks wider than mine, but not quite as tall, or as deep.

My case is this big:

H: 29.5" (~75cm)
W: 7.75" (~20cm)
D: 16.6" (~42cm)
Posted February 14, 2018, 05:12:56 AM Logged
Safe, Reliable Insanity, Since 1961!
Chat With Morti!

CAPTCHA4us

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 5296
Rank: Certified

It's quite hard to judge the case size from the pic, hope you don't mind Syber but I went hunting for a video of it to get a better idea.

Yes it's a monster but in a good way, if you have the space for it  Smiley

Posted February 14, 2018, 10:49:03 AM Logged

Online Freddy
United Kingdom WWW Administrator
Posts: 3488
Rank: Certified

That is an enormous beast of a case  Shocked Cool
Posted February 15, 2018, 23:53:16 PM Logged

Offline sybershot Topic starter
United States WWW Posts: 1446
Rank: Certified

Quote
Syber, what are the dimensions of that brute? Just curious. It looks wider than mine, but not quite as tall, or as deep.

My case is this big:

H: 29.5" (~75cm)
W: 7.75" (~20cm)
D: 16.6" (~42cm)

My case is this big:

H: 30
W: 16 5/8
D: 19


Quote
It's quite hard to judge the case size from the pic, hope you don't mind Syber but I went hunting for a video of it to get a better idea.

Yes it's a monster but in a good way, if you have the space for it  Smiley
sorry about it being hard to judge the size, and as far as posting a video goes: no i do not mind my friend at all Cheesy I did have to make room of course pics to come soon

Quote
That is an enormous beast of a case  Shocked Cool
indeed this thing is enormously monsterous
Posted February 18, 2018, 15:12:48 PM Logged

Offline sybershot Topic starter
United States WWW Posts: 1446
Rank: Certified

sorry been without a pc for the hhd finally failed after windows install, so I purchased a intel 760p m.2 pcie 256gb
and have a unregistered windows 10 installed. no gpu yet and no place to mount rad yet either, not sure where i will mount it yet. I also named the new pc X.I.A.Z.


X.I.A.R.1.gif
thinking about a new pc and server
* X.I.A.R.1.gif (249.85 KB, 507x801 - viewed 1061 times.)

X.I.A.R.2.gif
thinking about a new pc and server
* X.I.A.R.2.gif (347.9 KB, 1008x756 - viewed 1185 times.)
Posted February 25, 2018, 02:05:47 AM
Last Edit: February 25, 2018, 02:51:31 AM by sybershot
Logged

Offline Data
United Kingdom Administrator
Posts: 5296
Rank: Certified

Done you a favour that HDD failing, with the M.2 you should see some serious performance  Cool

Don't think you will have trouble with heat build up in that case either.

Looking good so far Syber  thumbsup
Posted February 25, 2018, 11:00:45 AM Logged

Online Freddy
United Kingdom WWW Administrator
Posts: 3488
Rank: Certified

Looks nice - I have a radiator cooler too, they work well.

Responces should be responses btw  - ie. with an S.
Posted February 25, 2018, 11:53:12 AM Logged

Offline sybershot Topic starter
United States WWW Posts: 1446
Rank: Certified

indeed Data it made it more of a priority to getting a new drive, However it is not the drive I initially wanted but it will suffice till I get some money saved up. have not done any testing on the new drive however i need to do some research to see what latency it would run best at for in my bios there are many options, atm it is set to the lowest number.

Thanks Freddy, I can not wait till I get a gpu, so i can start on the custom water cooling   Grin
I think i am going to go red coolant for gpu and white coolant for the cpu, having to wait gives plenty of time to decide on the perfect piping configurations  Wink

Quote
Responces should be responses btw  - ie. with an S.
good catch, thanks for my spelling is not always the greatest  Wink
Posted February 25, 2018, 20:59:54 PM Logged
PC Hardware
Topic Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7
Jump to:  

Site Activity
Most Online Today: 234
146 Guests, 2 Users
Freddy, Urania

fast-registration